Date: 9th January 2012 at 11:43pm
Written by:

manager Ferguson alongside and were honored at the FIFA Ballon d’Or gala.

The Presidential award was presented to Sir Alex by Sepp Blatter to honour his work at , where last season he lead his side to a record breaking 12th league title in his 25 years reign.

Upon receiving the award,  said:

“This is very much appreciated.

“No matter the honour I get, I feel it’s recognition for the 25 years of Manchester . They always shared my vision and passion. I’ve been a very lucky manager. That makes Manchester United such a special club. The courage to play and the courage to try and win is more important than anything.”

Sir Alex also narrowly missed out on the Men’s Football Coach Award, with FC ’s favoured after his league and success.

Members of the 19th title winning squad, Wayne Rooney and Nemanja Vidic were also named in a FIFA/FIFPro World XI dominated by Barcelona.

Rooney’s overhead kick against in the 2-1 win at Old Trafford in February was also named amongst the top three goals in the FIFA Puskas Award but was piped by Neymar’s spectacular solo effort for Santos against Flamengo.